Location: Inle Lake, Myanmar
Date: July 2012

You are looking at my favorite place on the planet. And I thought it a fitting image to share as I revamp this blog. After a hiatus for several years, and some serious travels around the globe, I’ve decided to share my journeys and adventures … one photograph at a time.

This photo was taken on the approach to Inle Princess Resort on Inle Lake in Myanmar. I taught English at this very resort in 2012, and it was the best (and hardest) month of my life. I doubt there isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t think about this experience.

Inle Lake is a magical place, full of lakeside villages and stilted villages in the middle of the lake – all surrounded by the most beautiful gentle mountains. The Inthar people group live a very full life on the lake, and they are known for their iconic boats with the rower using his legs to glide the oar through the water. Today, you’ll find the tourists in speed boats, but dig deep and you’ll find the locals out on the lake fishing in boats similar to this one.

Inle Princess Resort July 2012

FullSizeRender 2

 

Leave a Reply

